Saturday, 21 May 2016

E3 2016 - What's happening and when?



Another year, another E3 expo! This is the time of year all gamers are excited about. With E3 almost upon us the excitement levels are growing and rumours are starting to flow.

Not sure what E3 is? Just want to find out more information? Don't worry, we've got you covered.

What is E3??

E3 (Electronic Entertainment Expo) is an annual expo that runs every yeat to showcase video games. Every year E3 provides a major platform for Sony, Microsoft and Nintendo to show what they’re going to be bringing to Xbox, PlayStation, Wii and other consoles over the next year and beyond. Other major publishers, such as Bethesda and Ubisoft, also hold press conferences around the show. E3 itself is a trade event that takes place in the Los Angeles Convention Center in the week following the press conferences.

When will E3 be taking place?

E3 will take place from June 14th - June 16th. This is the official dates given for the E3 expo athough in the days before is when the press conferences take place. Essentially this years E3 will start on June 12th with both the EA and Bethesda press conferences.

Press Conference Times

The press conferences are what people love about E3. This is where all the biggest news is announced and really what fans look forward to most. Sony will most likely use this year to announce the PS4.5, nicknamed NEO. This has been a long running rumour of a more powerful PS4 with upgraded RAM and CPU to coincide with the release of the PlayStation VR, Sony's virtual reality headset. Maybe Microsoft have something similar up their sleeve? While Nintendo will be pumping up to announce their next console, Nintendo NX. As most of this is just rumours and speculation we will have to wait until E3 to see if there is any truth to the rumours. Either way it will definitely be worth tuning in to E3 as there is always something exciting happening. Check out the press conference times below.
  • EA – June 12, 1pm PST/4pm EST/9pm BST/10pm CET
  • Bethesda – June 12, 7pm PST/10pm EST/3am BST/4am CET
  • Microsoft – June 13, 9:30am PST/12:30pm EST/5:30pm BST/6:30pm CET
  • PC Gaming Show – June 13, 11:30am PST/2:30pm EST/7:30pm BST/8:30pm CET
  • Ubisoft – June 13, 1pm PST/4pm EST/9pm BST/10pm CET
  • Sony – June 13, 6pm PST/9pm EST/2am BST/3am CET
  • Nintendo Treehouse: Live – June 14, 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm BST
So with all that covered I'll just add that this year EA, Activision, Wargaming and Disney have all opted out of having a physical presence meaning that they won't have a booth at this years show. This will most likely see some changes for next years show if more companies decide to follow suit. EA and Activision will still be there behind the scenes and attend Sony and Microsoft's pre-show press conferences.

No comments:

Post a comment